The sudden demise of Notts County Ladies!   3 comments

Hearing the news last week that Notts County Ladies had folded just two days before the start of the new season left me with a very heavy heart.

I have spent the last 3 seasons photographing the team on and off the pitch. Was graced with unprecedented access; stopping over with them prior to the FA Cup Final at Wembley and going behind the scenes before and after that game as well as shooting the match pitch-side was a special occasion for me.

I was also privileged to travel on the team coach to many of their away games which gave me a wonderful insight into the pre-match, match and post-match processes involved with top-flight women’s football.

The women and the staff all shared such a passion for the game which is wonderfully unsullied and magnificently devoid of the destructive trappings of the current top flight men’s game.

One of the things that really stood out for me was the attitude and conduct of Rick Passmoor, Colin Walker and the other male members of staff. In a sport that can be horribly chauvinistic, never did I hear any word of condescension, sexism or belittling of women football players or the women’s game in general. Every member of the team was treated as a football player and not a female football player.

The access the crowd had to the players and the devotion the players had to the supporters was another telling difference and a highlight for me; the players would stand around and sign autographs and talk to fans, having selfies taken after the game, whether they had won, drawn or lost, for a unprescendented period of time.

I’d like to say a big thank you to Rick Passmoor, Colin Walker, Paul Campbell, Bob Widdoson, Matt Rowland and Krista Van Alten for not only making me welcome but for also making me feel like one of the family. I often used to say that, as a photographer, I was at my worst when photographing NCL FC because I was always so emotionally involved; punching the air instead of taking photos was my worst trait.

I wish all the players and staff a speedy return to top class football in whatever new homes they find.

Thank you NCL FC. I’ll miss you very much.

Drew Smith

Here’s a selection of a few of my favourite pics with which to say goodbye:

Posted April 24, 2017 by Drew in Uncategorized

3 responses to “The sudden demise of Notts County Ladies!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Agree with everything gutted still can’t believe it

    Like

  2. Great photos & Memories Drew. So Sad. A great Club & people.

    On Mon, Apr 24, 2017 at 12:55 PM, Drew Smith Photography wrote:

    > Drew posted: ” Hearing the news last week that Notts County Ladies had > folded just two days before the start of the new season left me with a very > heavy heart. I have spent the last 3 seasons photographing the team on and > off the pitch. Was graced with unpreceden” >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very sad news Drew. I have enjoyed following the N.C.Ladies along with your superb photography and comments.Missing them already.

    Like

Leave a Reply

