Chapters of Life exhibition at Waterstones Book Stores   Leave a comment

This is my Chapters of Life exhibition at Waterstones Book Stores which opened on the 10th of December.

It came about as a result of me sitting in their photographic section on numerous occasions and noticing what fascinating people came in there. I often thought that I’d love to photograph them just for the heck of it – you know how it is. Then one day on another visit there, I just jumped up and went looking for the store manager and pitched an idea to him I cooked up on the spot; to basically host a photographic exhibition in their store.

Long story short; after a couple of weeks to get approval from their head office (Waterstones have hundreds of shops all over continental Europe) they gave me the go ahead to inhabit their store for 4 consecutive weekends and approach their customers and ask if I could photograph them.

Of the 35-45 people and families I approached all but 3 gave their consent.  They all signed consent forms too, allowing us to put their faces up large on the walls.

Exhibition in store Large wall prep 02

Above – Prepping the images for the walls.

After the initial talks with the regional manager I approached a local commercial fine arts printer and they agreed to print and mount the images for free.

Exhibition in store Large wall prep 01

Above – spirit levels and sting lines to the fore.

The customers each got a specifically designed ‘flyer’ from me reminding them when the exhibition was due to begin and that if their image was used they could, if they so desired, come in to the store and claim their print after the exhibition closed in January.

Exhibition in store Large wall 01

Above – the main wall in the store.

Foot note: Whilst photographing there on the weekends I was asked by 3 or 4 people representing local businesses to come and shoot paid project for them. Two of which I’ve already completed.

Exhibition in store side wall 02

Exhibition in store side wall 03

Above – two of the side walls.

So, all in all a wonderful experience. I hope you don’t mind me sharing the story and the pics. Here’s a link to the original pictures on my website:

http://www.drewsmithphotography.co.uk/W … rs-of-Life

 

Leave a Reply

